top of page
  • thejoyage

Keeping your number when moving abroad

Updated: Oct 2, 2022


Prep and steps for moving abroad

Downsize your phone bill & Keep your number when moving abroad


Please reach out with any questions

___

By The Joyager: Anna Barnes



Introduction:

One of my biggest hurdles was figuring out how to keep my number when Moving abroad. I didn’t want the hassle of switching my number with Doctors, clientele, family and friends. The thought of not being able to keep in touch with those I care about could have easily been a deal breaker for the entire move. I had looked into my carrier's travel plan and found that it was not only expensive but would only work for a maximum of three months (give or take without specificity from them). If you have been following us for any amount of time, you know that we bet on ourselves and moved without taking conventional jobs with us. So the thought of having traditional phone coverage with a monthly price tag was not an option. My own phone line on Verizon (with a monthly charge for a Samsung phone) was $174/month. At its very lowest (When I was on their promotional period) it was still over $100/month. It's crazy how much phone services are in general!

During my research on where in the world we wanted to go, I discovered that you will have to get local sim cards for where you were going. This lead to the deep rabbit whole that I am going to attempt to simplify for you here. Hopefully I will save you some time and definitely some money. Whether you are planning on moving abroad or if you are downsizing and saving money. Win Win Win!


Make sure your phone is unlocked:

This means paid off, or like me - buy an affordable phone from amazon or a phone brands website. I got the Motorola G Stylus 5G from https://amzn.to/3V8YXPh for $287.23 (taxes and delivery fee included). I then had a family member pay off the remaining amount of my phone and factory restarted the phone for them. They got an upgraded Samsung for nearly half the price and I didn’t have to pay the rest of it off. Win Win Win. Jorden’s Samsung S10 phone was $350 from cell phone repair at https://cellphonerepair.com

Research compatible sims for your particular phone. This will help you when you get to the sims section below


Download Google Voice and skype App on your desktop and phone

(skype = fee free, Google voice = OTP and keeping your number)

  • Purchase Skype: https://www.skype.com

    • **Insert video of computer screen with steps of purchasing skype**

      • Once a year payment of $39 to purchase a skype number

      • Once a year payment of $30.50 ( or pay $3/month) to enjoy uninterrupted services such as txt and calling. Will Auto renew until you cancel

      • You will be given a Skype number. This will be your forwarding service number through Google Voice. The reason is to avoid Google Voice fees when calling and texting. At the time of publishing this, you need the two apps working together in order to get maximum benefits from both.

      • Pros:

        • Forwards service to google voice at no additional charge

        • Allows video calling, and regular calling and texts on its own

        • The number you are given could be used as a business line

        • The video calls are a great tool to run meetings remotely

        • Running a business through Skype is possible as it is similar to Teams

        • $3/month or $30.50 annually for unlimited calling and text are unbeatable.

      • Con’s:

        • Does have the upfront cost of starting it up (Still reasonable in my opinion).

        • You do need to be able to connect to Wifi in order to use it (unless you have a sim card…see next steps below).

        • Does not allow OTP or to keep your own number - Google Voice to the rescue!


  • Purchase Google Voice and Port Number: https://voice.google.com

    • **Insert video of computer screen with steps of purchasing Google Voice**

    • One time purchase for porting your phone number of $20

    • You will pick a Google Voice number from your area code. This will switch once you port your number over

    • Pros:

      • The only cost is to port your old number (When combined with Skype)

      • Keep your phone number and be able to receive OTP codes used to verify accounts such as bank accounts, login's etc.

      • Hassle free calling and texting

    • Cons:


Purchase a service sim:

  • **insert video of going to walmart and purchasing a sim**

Sims will be necessary when you decide to break up with your expensive carrier. They will be the only way you can make and receive calls and texts outside of wifi. You will have your very own new number as well. You could use this number for business or not at all. When you activate your sim you will be able to use your google voice number (old phone number) anywhere. The only difference is that you will have data outside of wifi areas. So smaller amounts of GB are required because you will typically be using the wifi in your locations anyway. Even if you aren’t moving abroad, I highly suggest that you consider switching to one of these types of services.


Note: research which sims are compatible with your particular phone! For instance, my brand new Motorola I mentioned earlier was not compatible with esims (see below for what those are) however, Jorden’s is. Also, I nearly lost my ish when I tried to activate my newly purchased straight talk wireless plan. When activating on the website I kept getting denied with a message stating “it looks like your device is not compatible with straight talk wireless” and directed me to purchase a phone through their website directly. I was SO mad! But then, in a last ditch effort of pure stubbornness, I called the activation number and Voi-LA! Success! Your girl does not give up easily, Thank goodness! (Just ask Jorden, wink)

  • Physical sims:

I used straight talk wireless for the remaining time I was in the US. Then, I purchased a local sim when we arrived in Bali. This could be your plan if you are moving abroad, too. If you are just planning on downsizing and saving money, this type of service will save you a ton each month and you can just re-up your service monthly using the same sim. Here is the link for straight talk wireless:

POV: If your physical sim gives you errors when activating through their website, CALL THE ACTIVATION NUMBER


  • ESims:

These are sims that you do not need to get a physical chip for. I think these are gaining popularity as digital nomad living is becoming more obtainable. Essentially, you download the app, set your physical location (which to my understanding can easily be switched as you relocate) and ta-da you are connected! I will put a few links for some that I had found while researching sims (before I found out that the unlocked phone I purchased was not compatible, DOH!)


Call your carrier and get your transfer pin and account number:

At Verizon, the transfer pin was good for 7 days. So choose your timing properly. You’ll want to make sure your bill and phone are paid off before you transfer your number. If you are getting a new phone, make sure to transfer your contacts, photos and other data to the new phone before you transfer the number. If you are keeping your same phone, disregard that part. Once your number is ported over (and everything is paid up), this will cancel your service. So be ready for that to happen, be sure you’ve switched all important info over etc. Also, call your carrier to be sure that your service has been canceled.


Finally - Transfer/port number from old carrier to Google Voice:

  • Once you do this step it will end your current service. Make sure to call them to confirm once the transfer is complete.

  • This can take a couple of days so don't get rid of the old phone until you verify that this is complete


Abbreviated steps:

  • Make sure your phone is unlocked

  • Download and purchase Google Voice and skype App (one cost for both desktop and phone)

  • Purchase a service sim (physical or Esim)

  • Get your transfer pin and account number from your current carrier

  • Transfer/ port number to Google voice


Conclusion

I hope this article has been helpful for you and made a seemingly complicated system a little bit easier to understand. Taking on the task of downsizing, saving money and even moving abroad can be so overwhelming. I know I was very relieved anytime I came across information that was truly helpful and easy to digest. That is what I've aimed to do here.

Take care!





85 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page